2017 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Jacqueline Woodson to deliver 2017 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Photo of Jacqueline Woodson

This lecture was held on April 1, 2017.

View video of the lecture 
Read the Lecture in Children and Libraries digital supplement


Originally established with funding from Scott Foresman to honor May Hill Arbuthnot, the lecture is now funded and administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association. The Lecture hosts roughly 250-700 attendees each year, depending on the selected venue. Audiences typically include: librarians, publishers, literary critics, intrigued local patrons, and others interested in children's literature.

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2014 National Book Award Winner for her New York Times bestselling memoir, Brown Girl Dreaming. The author of more than two dozen books for young readers, she is a four-time Newbery Honor winner, a recipient of the NAACP Image Award, the 2014 National Book Award winner for young people's literature, a two-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and was recently named the Young People's Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation.

View the press release announcing the 2017 Arbuthnot Host Site

View the press release announcing Woodson as the 2017 Lecturer.

Host Location:

South Carolina State Library
Columbia, South Carolina