Get to Know the Caldecott Winners

Join this curated documentary with ALSC Past President and Caldecott expert Kathleen Horning as she shares stories about some of the winning books and illustrators while we watch and listen to a handful of films and audio interviews with the winning illustrators, created by Executive Director Nick Glass. Attendees will learn about these amazing illustrators and have a new context to teach, discuss, and enjoy these distinguished books.

Learning Outcomes

Participants will:

  • Gain knowledge about many books that won the Caldecott Medal
  • Gain understanding of the way books are illustrated
  • Learn about the history of The Caldecott Medal
  • Learn about freely available primary source movies and audio recordings with the illustrators that they can use with patrons, reading groups, and so forth

Who Should Attend

Children's librarians, library paraprofessionals, library support staff, college faculty, art teachers, book aficionados, and students of all ages who use and enjoy picture books.


Kathleen T. Horning is the director of the Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC) of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. For nine years she was also a children’s librarian at Madison Public Library. She is the author of From Cover to Cover: Evaluating and Reviewing Children’s Books (revised edition: HarperCollins, 2010), and other books with Ginny Moore Kruse and Megan Schliesman. Kathleen is a past-president of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and a past president of the United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY). She has chaired the Américas Award Committee, under the auspices of the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP), University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee; ALA/ALSC’s 1997 Mildred Batchelder Award Committee; and ALA/ALSC’s 1995 John Newbery Committee; and three Charlotte Zolotow Award Committees (administered by the CCBC), including the 2010 committee. She also chaired USBBY’s Hans Christian Andersen Award Committee, which selected U.S. nominees for the international award in 1992. She has served as a member of many book award and evaluation committees, including the ALA Rainbow List, the NCTE Lee Bennett Hopkins Awards, the ALA/EMIERT Coretta Scott King Award, ALA Notable Children’s Books, and the 1990 Newbery Committee. She received the Scholastic Library Publishing Award from the American Library Association in 2009 for her outstanding leadership in the field of librarianship and children’s and young adult literature. Kathleen frequently lectures to librarians on issues in evaluating literature for children and young adults, and delivered the 2010 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture for ALA/ALSC. She also teaches the ALSC online course “The Caldecott Medal: Understanding Distinguished Art in Picture Books”. She has a B.A. in Linguistics and a Master’s Degree in Library and Information Studies, both from the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Nick Glass is the Founder & Executive Director of  He has a circuitous professional route that included six seasons as an executive in Major League Baseball (the Chicago White Sox), the Office of the Commissioner, graduate work in the history of multicultural education (Univ of Wisconsin, Madison), and four years of working as a children’s bookseller at the independent Pooh Corner bookstore in Madison, Wisconsin. Nick has spoken at a few dozen educational conferences on integrating 21st century skills and multimedia materials to equalize access to authors and materials about books, including ALA Annual, AASL, IRA, and SCBWI. He is an active member of the ALA and writes monthly columns for the School Library Journal / 'Curriculum Connections' e-newsletter and LibrarySparks magazine. He served on the ALSC 2009 Newbery Medal selection committee, the Coretta Scott King Book Award 40th Anniversary Public Awareness Campaign committee, and is currently on the jury for the Green Earth Book Award.



ALSC offered this webcast to all personal ALSC members free of charge.
Become an ALSC member and save on the price of the webinar.

How to Register

If you are an ALSC member you will need your ALA login information to access the webcast; if you click on this link and receive a page error message, please ignore it and proceed to the login link in the top right corner of the page. If you are an ALSC member and you are having problems logging into the ALSC website please contact Kristen Sutherland.


All inquiries can be directed to Kristen Sutherland, ALSC program officer, via email or by calling (312) 280-4026.