Excellence for Early Learning Digital Media Committee


Upon ALA Awards committee approval, to select and present an award annually for the most distinguished contribution to digital media created for an early learning audience.


No roster found.

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2016. Last retrieved on 07/16/2019. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Excellence for Early Learning Digital Media committee consists of nine members appointed from the ALSC membership at large, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair. (Chair + 8)


The Notable Children's Videos committee was established in 1964 and the Carnegie Medal committee was established in 1990, both at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors. The two committees were merged in 2009 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors. In 2016, based on emerging technology trends, the ALSC Board of Directors evolved the work of the Carnegie Medal/Notable Children’s Videos committee to the current Excellence for Early Learning Digital Media committee to evaluate early learning digital media.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

ALSC Awards Coordinator