Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media Award - 2020 winners

The Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media Award is given to a digital media producer that has created distinguished digital media for an early learning audience.

2020 Award

Molly of Denali, produced by WGBH

In Molly of Denali, children join Molly, her dog Suki, and her friends Tooey and Trini in the Alaskan village, Qyah. Children use diagrams, pictures, field guides, and utilize maps, charts and informational text to help them solve problems and accomplish tasks. The app’s games, adventures, and explorations of Native language, art and music engage users while developing foundational skills in informational literacy.

“The committee was especially impressed by the roles Alaskan Native peoples played in every phase of development and production of the story, resulting in an app with ample opportunities for children to engage in cultural exploration. The complementary multi-platform media provide ideas for co-engagement between caregivers and children.” said Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media Award Committee Chair, Katie Paciga.

2020 Honor Recipients

Seek, produced by iNaturalist.

Encouraging meaningful joint media engagement in an exceptional way, Seek enables budding naturalists ages 4+ and their caregivers to embrace curiosity and explore the natural world in their communities and beyond. Seek harnesses image recognition technology to identify flora and fauna while including background information on organisms observed.

States of Matter, produced by Tinybop, Inc.

States of Matter by Tinybop introduces children to the basic principles of solids, liquids, and gases. The colorful, vibrant and open design encourages children to direct their own learning. Creative play, exploration, and elements of surprise abound. An extensive handbook allows continued engagement with caregivers through discussion and learning.

The members of the 2020 Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media Award Committee are Chair Katie Paciga, Columbia College Chicago; Maria Paz Alegre, Allen-Stevenson School, New York; Joella Peterson Bagshaw, Provo (Utah) City Library; Maryanne Olson, Queens Library, Queens, N.Y.; Julie Phoenix, St. Louis (Mo.) County Library; Celeste Swanson, The Lane Libraries, Hamilton, Ohio; Brittany Tavernaro, Willowbrook Elementary School, Bentonville, Ark.; Caitlin Tormey, Sacramento (Calif.) Public Library; and Janet Weber, Tigard (Ore.) Public Library.