Every Child Ready to Read: How to Train and Motivate Adults to Foster School Readiness

Are you tired of trying to convey early literacy practices to adults without getting results?  Are you uncertain about the best way to present workshop information?  This webinar is open to anyone trying to improve or supplement his or her skills in training adults in early literacy and school readiness.  The goal of the webinar is to explore how to partner with caring adults in a workshop setting to inspire children to learn and to demonstrate how to accelerate the learning process.  The webinar features easy-to-learn techniques that can be used in ECRR and other training programs.  In addition, there will be three learning activities, and three question and answer sessions.

Learning Outcomes

Learners will be able to: 

  • Identify at least 2 methods to plan and prepare for a successful workshop
  • Identify at least 2 strategies to increase adult and children’s enthusiasm for learning and sense of discovery
  • Learn techniques and be able to increase the likelihood that parents and caregivers will apply what they learned in a workshop in their home or childcare setting  
  • Participate in three question and answer sessions on strategies, techniques, and methods to increase their effectiveness as early literacy trainers

Who Should Attend

Children's librarians and library paraprofessional and support staff in public and school libraries who work with young children. Children’s librarians and library staff who will be involved with planning, preparing and presenting workshops for adults on early literacy and school readiness.

Course Level & Prerequisites

This webinar is open to library staff of all experience levels; no prerequisites are required.

Instructor(s)

Dorothy Stoltz coordinates outreach services and programming at Carroll County (MD) Public Library.  She spearheaded a successful Early Literacy Training research study which showed statistically significant increases in early literacy skills of children.  Dorothy serves on the ALSC/PLA Every Child Ready to Read Oversight Committee.  

Connie Wilson recently retired after 21 years in various librarian and supervisory positions at Carroll County Public Library.  She brings her social work experience, concern for children and certification as a trainer to her early literacy projects.  Connie was the lead trainer for the Early Literacy Training research study in Carroll County.    

Date(s) & Time(s)

This webinar is 90 minutes long; the information below indicates the start time.  Please plan on signing into the virtual classroom 10 - 15 minutes early.  The same information is being presented four times to allow for more participants; only plan on attending one date/time.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012; Noon Eastern, 11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific
Wednesday, November 14, 2012; 7 pm Eastern, 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain, 4 pm Pacific
Thursday, December 6, 2012; Noon Eastern, 11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific
Thursday, January 17, 2013; Noon Eastern, 11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific

Credits &/or CEUs Heading

College credit nor CEU's are available at this time. An electronic certificate of completion can be sent to participants upon request.

Fee

Webinar is limited to 95 students.

ALSC and PLA Personal Members, and Student members: $45
Non-Member: $55
Groups*: $195

*Groups are defined as any number of people watching the webinar together.  Each group registration will only receive one user login; one person in the group must register and login during the event.  Groups are encouraged to project the webinar for participants watching from the same location.

Technical Requirements

To take part you must have a computer, high-speed Internet access, web browser, and a copy of Flash® Player 8 or higher.  You can download a free copy of Flash® Player from the Adobe website if you do not already have it.

You are encouraged to test your connection prior to registering for a webinar.  If your internet connection is not high speed you may have problems inside the virtual meeting room.

For more information, view a video about Abode Connect meetings produced by Adobe.

How to Register

Registration is now open!  Visit the ALA Registration page to register online, or fill out the registration form and mail it in.  You can also register by calling ALA Member and Customer Service at 800-545-2433 ext. 5.  Webinar space is limited.  Archived version can not be purchased until all live sessions have taken place.

Contact

Jenny Najduch
ALSC Program Officer
jnajduch@ala.org
(800) 545-2433 ext. 4026