Webinars

alsc online course logo

What is a webinar?

One of ALSC's goals to provide children’s librarians with timely, educational and affordable professional development opportunities.  Because life in a library moves fast, ALSC's webinars are the perfect solution for someone who wants and needs educational information but doesn't have a lot of time or resources.  These short (one to two hour) interactive sessions taking place in Adobe Connect give librarians and library support staff the opportunity to learn right at their desks.  The only necessary tools are a computer and the internet.  At $45 a session for ALSC members, $55 for non-members and $195 for groups, webinars are highly affordable, and because they're interactive, students get the benefit of sharing ideas with one another and networking from afar.  In case you couldn't make the live session, also available are select webinar archives for $25.  Please note that recorded versions are not available until all of the live sessions of that webinar have taken place.

Webcasts only $25

Webcasts are webinars that have already taken place, but are still available for only a fraction of the cost.  Individuals pay only $25, and groups $195.  These webinars will not be offered again live, but you receive unlimited access to the recording with purchase.  Please note that archives of current sessions are not available until all live sessions have taken place. 

Upcoming webinars

ALSC will be announcing more webinars soon! Please check back for more information about upcoming webinars.
 

Thursday, April 24, 2014: 1 pm Central, 2 pm Eastern, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific

Cindy Wall and Lynn Pawloski, two traditionally educated, but not traditionally centered children's librarians introduce maker-based programming to librarians of all experience levels and tech-savviness. Maker, today's DIY, encourages collaboration among participants regardless of library programming budget or designated Makerspace availability. The Maker Movement encompasses self-production of technology, crafts and more. In addition to a multitude of programming ideas, attendees will share a step-by-step, hands-on experience. Cindy and Lynn are co-authors of the upcoming The Maker Cookbook: Recipes for Youth Library Programs published by Libraries Unlimited.
Instructors: Cindy Wall, Lynn Pawloski, Children's Librarians, Southington Library & Museum

 

 

 

Please note that many of the webinars are offered more than once to accommodate different schedules.  Each registration fee allows the participant to attend one session.  For instance, "Sensory Storytime" is being held four times but the same information will be presented each time.