Digital Media Implementation Task Force


To guide and support the pilot implementation of three ALSC Digital Media Awards:
A) The evolution of the Carnegie Medal/Notable Children's Videos Committee into the Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media Committee with the charge of selecting a winner of an annual medal for digital media created for an early learning audience,
B) The additional charge for the Children and Technology Committee to include the responsibility of selecting a recipient of an annual “ALSC Media Mentorship Leadership Award,” and 
C) The expansion of the Great Websites for Kids Committee’s charge to include digital media as the Notable Children’s Digital Media Committee.


No roster found.

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/21/2018. Last retrieved on 07/21/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The ALSC Digital Media Awards Implementation Task Force consists of five (5) members including the chair and a Board liaison.  
Term of appointment: Immediately (January 2017) through the end of the 2018 Annual Conference (June 2018). 

Notes to the Task Force

The Task Force will meet during the All-Committee Meeting at Midwinter Meetings and Annual Conferences in 2017 and 2018 and be available throughout those events to serve as on-site resources for the committees (or just chairs in the case of virtual committees), attending any orientations and other meetings at which they can provide support. The Task Force should plan to meet virtually using ALA Connect, through conference calls, or through other Web-based meeting platforms (Adobe Connect) that may be scheduled through the ALSC office. The Task Force chair will also attend the Leadership and ALSC meeting and report on the Task Force’s work to the ALSC Board at the Midwinter Meetings and Annual Conferences during the term of appointment.
The Task Force also should note:
This is a groundbreaking and complex endeavor for ALSC and the committees who will be doing this pilot work will need to be able to rely on this Task Force for guidance and support as they forge into this area of exciting organizational change.  
In this work the Board has called on membership to think outside of the box and be willing to embrace ambiguity as they blaze a trail with this pilot. The Task Force will want to demonstrate patience and understanding and also boldness and expediency in working with these committees, and to do so strategically and transparently.
Issues may cross across more than one committee, even beyond these specific Digital Award committees, so it will be incumbent upon this Task Force to ensure the committees know they can reach out widely to, across, and beyond ALSC and to encourage communication.
Each committee will have technology needs to be addressed, including but likely not limited to evaluation (all) and promotion (especially Notable Children’s Digital Media).
The Task Force will likely wish to appoint members as specific point people for each of these three Digital Media Award committees.
The Board’s approved definition of Digital Media is: Any real-time, dynamic, and interactive media content or product that is available via personal electronic device across multiple platforms that enables and encourages active engagement and social interaction while developmentally appropriately informing, educating, and/or entertaining.


Created in 2017 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Courtney Jones