Belpré 20th Anniversary Celebration Task Force


To develop an action plan, including a budget, for the twentieth anniversary of the Pura Belpré Award, and upon approval, implement the plan. The plan will be approved by both the ALSC and REFORMA Board of Directors. The task force will submit its recommendations in accordance to Appendix III of the ALSC/REFORMA Pura Belpre Award Memorandum of Understanding by the 2014 ALA Annual Conference.


Ms. Oralia Garza De Cortes (REFORMA Representative, July 1, 2013, to July 31, 2016)
Teresa Mlawer (REFORMA Representative, July 1, 2013, to July 31, 2016)
Rita Auerbach (Co-Chair, December 31, 2013, to July 31, 2016)
Ruth Tobar (Co-Chair, July 1, 2013, to July 31, 2016)
Ms. Christine Dengel Baum (Member, May 1, 2014, to July 31, 2016)
Katherine Opal Scherrer (Member, July 1, 2013, to July 31, 2016)

Displaying active committee roster as of 06/27/2016. Last retrieved on 06/27/2016. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The term of appointment is adjournment of the 2013 ALA Annual Conference to the adjournment of the 2016 ALA Annual Conference.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Courtney Jones