2016 Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Visit Award Winner

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2016 Maureen Hayes Author/Illustrator Visit Award to the Thibodaux Public Library, Thibodaux, Louisiana, whose librarian Shannon Porche submitted the winning application.
The award, sponsored by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing, is designed to provide up to $4,000 to an ALSC member library to fund a visit from an author/illustrator who will speak to children who might otherwise not have had the opportunity to hear from a nationally known author/illustrator.
The Thibodaux Public Library plans to invite Louisiana author and illustrator William Joyce for an widely publicized event to reach children throughout the community.  They have confirmed cooperation with other agencies, including the Jean Lafitte Cultural Center Auditorium to host the event and Virtual Academy of Lafourche to record and broadcast the event online.  Purple Penguin Art Company and the Art Council of New Orleans will help with creative craft and illustration workshops in conjunction with the event.
“The committee was impressed by Ms. Porche’s well-planned application,” said Sondra Eklund, Grant Administration Committee chair.  “As she said in her application, ‘A special celebration of an author and the books they’ve written will be a major highlight of the year and will draw families into the library and help to establish a lifelong connection to reading and writing.’  We are pleased to help make this happen for the children of Thibodaux.”
ALSC, a division of the ALA, is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at www.ala.org/alsc.
Members of the 2016 ALSC Grant Administration committee include: Sondra Eklund, chair, Fairfax (Virginia) County Public Library; Robert Bittner, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia; Gwen Denney Vanderhage, Williamsport, Pennsylvania;  Kathleen Neil, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Maryland; Jennifer M. Smith, Suffern (New York) Free Library; Laurie Swartwout, Cardinal Stritch University Library, Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Carol Elaine Trujillo-Fay, Alberquerque, New Mexico; Andrea Vernola, Kalamazoo (Michigan) Public Library.
ALSC Professional Awards logo