2016 Bookapalooza Winners

Minnesota, New York, and Oklahoma Libraries Win 2016 Bookapalooza Program

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2016 Bookapalooza Grant to three libraries:  Bezhigoogahbow Library, Cass Lake, Minnesota; David A. Howe Public Library, Wellsville, New York; and Nora Sparks Warren Library, Pauls Valley, Oklahoma.

The award includes a variety of materials from books to DVDs and audiobooks. These materials have been received at the ALSC office from publishers for selection committees to evaluate for awards and notables consideration. To make room for the next year’s publications, Bookapalooza was created to infuse three collections with new materials for children age birth through age fourteen. 

At Nora Sparks Warren Library in Oklahoma, the average age of the materials in the children’s collection is thirty-six years, and the budget hasn’t been able to catch up.  The infusion of new materials from Bookapalooza will enable them to attract more youth and families to the library and to increase the variety and frequency of their story times and other children’s programs.

Photo of David A. Howe Public Library, Wellsville, New York

The David A. Howe Public Library in New York is planning to use the Bookapalooza materials to supplement their youth materials, as well as establish a rotating outreach collection for youth.  Located in a rural area with low population density and no public transportation, they are making efforts to reach youth where they are.  The new collection will greatly help them as they reach out to many different community facilities, including local schools which lack school librarians.

Outreach is also important in the plans of Bezhigoogahbow Library at Leech Lake Tribal College in Minnesota.   Located on tribal lands, the library does not receive city, county, or state funding, so the Bookapalooza grant will help build the children’s collection where it is much needed.  As well, some of the books will undergird increased outreach to the fourteen community centers on the Leech Lake Reservation, bringing the library to the community.Bezhigoogahbow Library at Leech Lake Tribal College in Minnesota

 “The grant recipients all demonstrated need for materials for the youth of their community and provided plans telling how they will get materials into the hands of these users, creating readers despite having little or no money for new materials,” said Sondra Eklund, Grant Administration Committee chair.  “The committee is thrilled about all the Bookapalooza materials finding their way into the hands of children who need them.”

ALSC, a division of the ALA, is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at www.ala.org/alsc.

Members of the 2016 ALSC Grant Administration committee include: Sondra Eklund, chair, Fairfax (Virginia) County Public Library; Robert Bittner, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia; Gwen Denney Vanderhage, Williamsport, Pennsylvania;  Kathleen Neil, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Maryland; Jennifer M. Smith, Suffern (New York) Free Library; Laurie Swartwout, Cardinal Stritch University Library, Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Carol Elaine Trujillo-Fay, Alberquerque, New Mexico; Andrea Vernola, Kalamazoo (Michigan) Public Library.

ALSC Professional Awards logo