Welcome to the (Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award home page!

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award seal image



The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

2017 Medal Winner

Nikki Grimes wins 2017 Wilder Award

Born and raised in New York City, Nikki began composing verse at the age of six and has been writing ever since that time. At the age of 13, she gave her first poetry reading, at the Countee Cullen Library in Harlem, a block away from where she was born. Since that time, she has published more than 40 novels, picture books, biographies and poetry for a wide range of ages. She lives in Corona, Calif.
Nikki Grimes’s award-winning works include “Bronx Masquerade,” which won the Coretta Scott King Author Award in 2003 and “Words with Wings,” the recipient of a Coretta Scott King Author Honor in 2014. In addition, Grimes received the Virginia Hamilton Literary Award in 2016 and the NCTE (National Council of Teachers of English) Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children in 2006.
Nikki Grimes’s thoughtful and emotionally powerful works acknowledge the complex realities of today’s children. She uses a variety of poetic forms: free verse, tanka, haiku, linked and paired poems reflect the African-American experience while celebrating universal themes of family, identity, empathy, friendship, and community. Her poetry is smart, funny, heart-wrenching, and satisfying. It is empowering, nurturing readers’ imagination, and encouraging children to find their own means of self-expression.
In the three books about Danitra Brown, a splendiferous girl bursts off the page though the eyes of her best friend. The everyday setting of the classroom becomes extraordinary when the irrepressible Danitra Brown is around. “She doesn’t mind what people say, she always does things her own way.”
Members of the 2017 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award Committee are Chair Starr La Tronica, Brooks Memorial Library, Brattleboro, Vermont; Julie A. Corsaro, William and Mary, Williamsburg, Va.; Robin L. Gibson, Westerville (Ohio) Public Library; Luann Toth, School Library Journal, New York; and Virginia A. Walter, University of California, Los Angeles.