Welcome to the (Andrew) Carnegie Medal home page!

The Andrew Carnegie Medal image



The Andrew Carnegie Medal honors the most outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year.

2016 Medal winner

Weston Woods Studios, Willems win 2016 Carnegie Medal for “That Is NOT a Good Idea!”
Package cover: That Is NOT a Good Idea!Weston Woods Studios, Inc., and author/illustrator Mo Willems, producers of “That Is NOT a Good Idea!” are the 2016 recipients of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video. The award was announced today by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits held Jan. 8 – 12, in Boston.
Established with the support of Carnegie Corporation of New York, the Carnegie Medal honors an outstanding American video production for children released during the previous year.  The award is administered by ALSC. 
In an innovative adaptation of this read-aloud favorite, Goose accepts an invitation to accompany Fox on a simple stroll -- or is it? Watch along with a comical chorus of goslings as they react to this cautionary tale.      
Pete List brilliantly directs and animates this cinematic wonder that expertly incorporates classic silent movie elements. A superlative score by Lucas Elliot Eberl and the dynamic voice work of Mo and Cher Willems, supported by an exuberant gaggle of young voices, evoke the feeling of melodrama and suspense. 
“It’s a really, REALLY good idea to watch this film,” said Carnegie Medal/Notable Children’s Videos Committee Chair Lizabeth L. Deskins, an opinion echoed by her group of committee members. 
Members of the 2016 Carnegie Medal/Notable Children’s Videos Committee are: Chair Lizabeth L. Deskins, Hilliard City (Ohio) School District; Eric Carpenter, Toomer Elementary School, Atlanta; Linda L. Ernst, King County (Wash.) Library System; Joanna Fabicon, Los Angeles Public Library; Sharon McQueen, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Va.; Maryann H. Owen, Oak Creek (Wis.) Public Library; Susan H. Polos, Bedford Central School District, Mount Kisco, N.Y.; and Laurie Reese, Los Angeles Public Library.