ALSC news

icon for alsc blog      "stay connected" graphic   alsc wiki graphic   

ALSC Matters! newsletter | Everyday Advocacy Matters newsletter  
Sign up for ALSC Updates | ALSC press release archive - 2008-2015

2016 press releases

Click on the headlines below for the latest news from the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC).

ALSC now accepting applications for 2017 Penguin Random House Young Readers Group Award
South Carolina State Library chosen as site for 2017 Arbuthnot Lecture

ALSC announces winners of 2016 Bound to Stay Bound Books, Melcher Scholarships

Quaker day school library wins ALA’s 2016 Jaffarian Award for Greensboro sit-in program

Registration Open for 2016 ALSC Virtual Institute

More Great Websites for Kids selected by ALSC

Belpré Award celebrates 20 years of outstanding Latino children’s literature at ALA Annual Conference

The 2016 guide to the Newbery and Caldecott awards

National Readathon Day campaign now includes Facebook Donate option and profile picture frame

ALSC releases 2016 Summer Reading lists

2017 Arbuthnot Lecture Site Application Deadline Extended

Fader to support 2016 ALSC Spectrum Scholar

Lindsay elected ALSC 2017-2018 president
Dr. Jamie Campbell Naidoo named 2016 Achievement in Library Diversity Research honoree
ALSC Cancels 2016 National Institute in Charlotte, North Carolina in response to HB 2
Nation’s libraries advancing diversity and tolerance on Día’s 20th anniversary April 30

ALSC, PLA Provide Access to Articles on ECRR Survey Results

ALA President, ALSC President, and GLBTRT Chair Urge North Carolina Governor to Repeal HB2

Jacqueline Woodson to Present Closing Session at 2016 ALSC Institute

ALSC announces Día Turns 20 mini-grant recipients
ALSC announces new Graphic Novels Reading Lists

ALSC dona $5,000 al Proyecto de Niños en Crisis de REFORMA

ALSC donates $5,000 to REFORMA Children in Crisis Project

2016 Charlemae Rollins President's Program on Youth Library Spaces

Bezhigoogahbow Library Receives 2016 Light the Way Grant

ALSC names eight more Great Websites for Kids

Tickets available for 2016 Arbuthnot Lecture featuring Pat Mora

ALSC announces 2016 Notable Children's Videos

ALSC announces 2016 Notable Children's Recordings
ALSC names 2016 Notable Children's Books

ALSC Announces Breakfast for Bill Speakers at National Institute

The American Library Association to support National Readathon Day 2016 on May 21 in partnership with Penguin Random House

Scales is 2016 ALSC Distinguished Service Award recipient
Listening Library wins 2016 Odyssey Award for ‘The War that Saved My Life’
Rafael López, Margarita Engle win Pura Belpré Awards
Rafael López y Margarita Engle ganan premios Pura ​Belpré
Jacqueline Woodson to deliver 2017 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture
2016 Batchelder Award honors Enchanted Lion Books for “The Wonderful Fluffy Little Squishy”
Duncan Tonatiuh wins the 2016 Sibert Medal
Weston Woods Studios wins 2016 Carnegie Medal for “That Is NOT a Good Idea!”
Jerry Pinkney wins 2016 Wilder Award
David A. Adler, Sam Ricks win Geisel Award for “Don’t Throw It To Mo!”
Matt de la Peña, Sophie Blackall win Newbery, Caldecott Medals
American Library Association announces 2016 youth media award winners