Priority Group V - Awards


To nominate or select recipients of the awards based on the award criteria. Priority group consultants and committee chair will review annually the procedures of each of the committees and make any recommendations necessary to meet the responsibilities of this group. To maintain liaison with ALA committees, divisions, round tables and other ALSC priority groups with common concerns. 1.(Mildred l.) Batchelder award, 2.Pura Belpre award, 3.Randolph Caldecott award selection, 4.Theodor Seuss Geisel award selection, 5. John Newbery award selection, 6.ALSC/Booklist/YALSA Odyssey award for excellence in audiobook production, 7. Robert F. Sibert informational book award, and 8.Laura Ingalls Wilder selection.


Caitlin D. Jacobson (Consultant, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Carol K. Phillips (Consultant, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2018. Last retrieved on 06/24/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


Priority Group V consists of a consultant appointed annually from the ALSC membership at large, serving a 2-year overlapping term.


Established in 1983 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Aimee Strittmatter