(Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award Selection Committee - 2019


To annually select the recipient of the Wilder Award, established by ALSC to give recognition to an author or illustrator whose books published in the U.S., have, over a period of years, made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.


Andrew Medlar (Chair, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Carol Arlene Edwards (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Amy Kellman (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Dr. Cindy A. Lombardo (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Caitlin D. Jacobson (Consultant, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Courtney Jones (Staff Liaison, March 31, 2014, to June 30, 2018)

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/19/2018. Last retrieved on 03/19/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Wilder Award Selection Committee consists of the following five (5) members: Three (3) members to be elected every year from a slate of no fewer than six (6), a chairperson appointed by the president, and one (1) member appointed by the president, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair.


Established in 1954 or 1955 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Courtney Jones