(Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award Selection Committee - 2020


To select from the books published the preceding year within the terms, definitions and criteria governing the award, the most distinguished American book for beginning readers.


Jean B. Gaffney (Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Ernie J. Cox (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Denise Davila Davila (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Melody T. Leung (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Sara Pope (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Mrs. Kelly Finan Richards (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Barbara S. Spears (Member, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Carol K. Phillips (Consultant, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020)
Katie Connelly (Staff Liaison, April 30, 2019, to April 30, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 06/18/2019. Last retrieved on 06/18/2019. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Geisel Award Selection Committee consists of seven members appointed from the ALSC membership at large, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair. (Chair + 6)

The 2020 Committee reviews books published in 2019 for the 2020 awards.

The 2018 award winners will be announced in January 2020.


Established in 2004 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

ALSC Awards Coordinator