Grant Administration Committee


To select annually the recipient of the ALSC/Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Program Grant for an outstanding public library summer reading program for children. To select annually the recipient of the Maureen Hayes Award, given to an ALSC member library to fund a visit from an author and/or illustrator who will speak to children who have never before had the opportunity to hear a nationally-known author or illustrator. To select annually the recipient(s) of the Penguin Random House Young Readers Group Award, given to children’s librarians to attend their first ALA Annual Conference. To select annually the libraries that will receive a Bookapalooza collection of materials to be used in a way that creatively enhances their library service to children and families. To prepare and disseminate to the membership information about each grant and the recipients.


Nancy L. Baumann (Chair, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Mrs. Krista K. Britton (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2013)
Jonathan Hunt (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Mrs. Julie Michelle Danielson (Virtual Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Ursula Jacobs-Guidry (Virtual Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Amy E. Koester (Virtual Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Deanna Mae Romriell (Virtual Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Patty Saidenberg (Virtual Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Ms. Destinee Sutton (Virtual Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Carol A. Doll (Consultant, July 1, 2012, to August 1, 2013)
Dan Bostrom (Staff Liaison, January 3, 2012, to January 5, 2014)
Caroline M. Jewell (Staff Liaison, March 26, 2012, to March 30, 2014)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2012. Last retrieved on 06/24/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Grant Administration Committee consists of nine members appointed from the ALSC membership at large, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair. (Chair + 8). All members of the committee are virtual.


Established in 2009 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Grants Administration Committee Manual (Word)
Grants Administration Committee Manual (PDF)

Staff Liaison

Courtney Jones