Scholarships: Melcher and Bound to Stay Bound Committee


To select recipients and alternates for the annual ALSC scholarships: Frederic G. Melcher and Bound to Stay Bound for professional education of librarians to work with children; to publicize the scholarships to potential candidates; and to advise the ALSC board on needed changes in terms or administration of the scholarship.


Janis Cooker (Chair, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Ellen Spring (Chair, July 1, 2010, to July 30, 2011)
Deborah Sharon Cooper (Member, July 1, 2011, to December 17, 2012)
Kris Dersch (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Amanda L. S. Murphy (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Ms. Bianca Roberts (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Dr. Timothy R. Wadham (Consultant, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Dan Bostrom (Staff Liaison, January 31, 2011, to January 31, 2014)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2011. Last retrieved on 06/19/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Scholarships: Melcher and Bound to Stay Bound Committee consists of Chair plus (5) five members (six total), serving 2-year terms (Chair + 5). At least one committee member shall be a library school faculty member. An ALSC Program Officer serves as staff liaison. This committee functions virtually.


Established in 1956 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Courtney Jones