Notable Children's Books Committee


To select, annotate, and present for publication annually the list of notable children's books of the preceding year.


Paige Bentley-Flannery (Chair, February 1, 2016, to January 31, 2017)
Ms. Lara Anne Crews (Member, February 1, 2016, to January 31, 2018)
Dr. Brenda Dales (Member, February 1, 2015, to January 31, 2017)
Sharon Haupt (Member, February 1, 2015, to January 31, 2017)
Ms. Ariana Hussain (Member, February 1, 2016, to January 31, 2018)
Benjamin Ryan Martin (Member, January 25, 2016, to January 30, 2017)
Ms. Kimberly Probert Grad (Member, February 1, 2015, to January 31, 2017)
Maria Simon (Member, February 1, 2016, to January 31, 2018)
Gaye Hinchliff (Consultant, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2017)
Dan Bostrom (Staff Liaison, May 21, 2012, to December 15, 2023)
Courtney Jones (Staff Liaison, March 31, 2014, to June 30, 2018)

Displaying active committee roster as of 09/25/2016. Last retrieved on 09/25/2016. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Notable Children's Books Committee consists of eleven members appointed from the ALSC membership at large, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair. (Chair + 10)


Established in 1940 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Courtney Jones