Public Awareness Committee


To promote awareness of the value of excellent library service for all children. To plan, execute, coordinate, and disseminate public awareness campaigns about the importance of library service for youth. To provide public awareness learning opportunities for library staff and other stakeholders.


Ms. Lucia Martinez Gonzalez (REFORMA Representative, August 3, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Christy Estrovitz (Chair, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018)
Mr. Jason Monroe Broughton (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Skye Corey (Member, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Jennifer M. Duffy (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Ms. Marika L. Jeffery (Member, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Mrs. Stephanie Saba (Member, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Mary Schreiber (Member, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Mr. Matthew J. McLain (Consultant, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2018)
Angela Hubbard (Staff Liaison, June 1, 2015, to July 31, 2020)
Laura Schulte-Cooper (Staff Liaison, August 18, 2015, to August 31, 2018)

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/22/2018. Last retrieved on 03/22/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Public Awareness Committee consists of nine members appointed from the ALSC membership at large, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair. (Chair + 8)


Established in 2007 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

ALSC and ALA value committed and active committee members. Qualified ALSC members are welcome to volunteer to serve on ALSC's committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other ALSC committees by filling out an ALSC committee volunteer form. Depending on the committee, appointments take place either in the spring or fall. Accordingly, committee service begins either following Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

Staff Liaison

Laura Schulte-Cooper