Pura Belpre 25th Anniversary Planning Task Force


To develop an action plan, including a budget, for the twenty-fifth (25th) anniversary celebración of the Pura Belpré Award, and, upon approval, implement the plan. The plan will be approved by the ALSC, REFORMA, and YALSA Board of Directors. 


Dr. Ramona Caponegro (Co-Chair, January 20, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Mr. Oscar Giurcovich (Member, February 10, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Adriana (Ady) Huertas (Member, February 10, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Ana-Elba Pavon (Member, February 10, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Patricia Cortez Valdovinos (Member, January 18, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Kathie L. Meizner (Consultant, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Jordan Dubin (Staff Liaison, October 21, 2019, to June 30, 2021)

Displaying active committee roster as of 08/05/2020. Last retrieved on 08/05/2020. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Belpré 25th Anniversary Planning Task Force consists of four (4) members plus two (2) co-chairs representing REFORMA, ALSC, and YALSA.

Get Involved

Vital professional associations are the result of engaged and committed member leaders! If you are interested in serving ALSC on a committee, please read and complete the online volunteer form

  • Process committees (non-award committees) are appointed in early spring (Jan-May)
  • Award and evaluation committees are appointed in early fall (July-Oct)
  • Replacement positions pop up and are filled throughout the year (ongoing)

The Vice-President/President-Elect begins making his/her process committee appointments in February/March. In August/September, after being seated as President, he/she will then begin filling fall appointments.

Learn More about ALSC Committees and Volunteering

Volunteering and the Appointments Process
“What Does That Committee Do”