2019 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Debbie Reese to deliver 2019 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

photo of Dr. Debbie Reese

Title: "An Indigenous Critique of Whiteness in Children's Literature"

Date: Saturday, April 13, 2019

Time: 7:30pm (doors open at 7:00pm)

Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery
330 N. Orchard St. 
Madison, WI 53715

Access Recording:

Lecturer Bio:
Blogger and educator Debbie Reese, PhD, founder of American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) blog, will deliver the 2019 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture. The announcement was made by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits held Feb. 9–13, in Denver, Colorado. 
“Our selection of Dr. Reese recognizes her strong modeling of inclusion, integrity and respect (ALSC Core Values) via the timely insights she shares on the influential blog, American Indians in Children’s Literature,” stated 2019 Arbuthnot Committee Chair Barbara A. Genco.  
Dr. Reese is a longtime advocate for Native representation and is a former teacher and university professor. She earned her PhD in Education from the University of Illinois, where she also helped establish the Native American House and American Indian Studies program. Dr. Reese also holds an M.Ed degree in Library and Information Science from San Jose State University. She is tribally enrolled at Nambe Owingeh Pueblo in New Mexico.  
Host Site:
University of Wisconsin -- Madison

These three University Units will also work in active collaboration and with the support of the Ho-Chunk Nation, of Black River Falls Wisconsin. In his supporting letter, the Nation’s President, Wilfrid Cleveland, pointed out that “As the original inhabitants of this territory, we welcome the opportunity to honor a fellow native educator. The leadership and advocacy that she has provided in promoting authentic American Indian children's literature has been outstanding.”

View 2019 Lecturer Announcement Press Release

View the 2019 Host Site Announcement Press Release

View the Statement of Appropriate Conduct at ALA-Sponsored Events

Members of the 2019 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Committee are: Chair Barbara A. Genco, consultant, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Ernie J. Cox, Prairie Creek Intermediate School, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Julie Dietzel-Glair, Baltimore, Md.; Rebecca D. Heard, Chicago Public Library; and Kiera Parrott, Library Journal/School Library Journal, Brooklyn, N.Y.