2017 ALSC Book & Media Award Winners

John Newbery Medal

“The Girl Who Drank the Moon,” written by Kelly Barnhill, and published by Algonquin Young Readers, an imprint of Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, a division of Workman Publishing

Newbery Honor Books

“Freedom over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan,” written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan, and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing Division
“The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog,” written by Adam Gidwitz, illustrated by Hatem Aly, and published by Dutton Children's Books, Penguin Young Readers Group, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC
“Wolf Hollow,” written by Lauren Wolk, and published by Dutton Children's Books, Penguin Young Readers Group, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC

Randolph Caldecott Medal

"Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat," illustrated and written by Javaka Steptoe, and published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Caldecott Honor Books

"Leave Me Alone!" illustrated by Vera Brosgol, written by Vera Brosgol, and published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership
“Freedom in Congo Square,” illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, written by Carole Boston Weatherford and published by Little Bee Books, an imprint of Bonnier Publishing Group
"Du Iz Tak?" illustrated and written by Carson Ellis, and published by Candlewick Press
"They All Saw a Cat," illustrated and written by Brendan Wenzel, and published by Chronicle Books LLC

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Nikki Grimes -- Her award-winning works include “Bronx Masquerade,” which won the 2003 Coretta Scott King Author Award; and “Words with Wings,” recipient of the 2014 Coretta Scott King Author Honor. In addition, Grimes’s has received the Virginia Hamilton Literary Award (2016) and the National Council of Teachers of English Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children (2006).

2018 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Naomi Shihab Nye -- The daughter of a Palestinian father and an American mother, Naomi Shihab Nye grew up in St. Louis, Jerusalem, and San Antonio, Texas. The author and/or editor of more than 30 books for adults and children, her latest for young people, “The Turtle of Oman,” was chosen as a 2015 Notable Children's Book by the ALA. She has received four Pushcart Prizes, was a National Book Award finalist, and has been named a Guggenheim Fellow, amongst her many honors.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

Enchanted Lion Books for “Cry, Heart, But Never Break,” written by Glenn Ringtved, illustrated by Charlotte Pardi, and translated from the Danish by Robert Moulthrop

Batchelder Honor Books

Chronicle Books LLC for “Over the Ocean,” written by Taro Gomi, illustrated by Taro Gomi, and translated from the Japanese by Taylor Norman
NorthSouth Books, Inc. for “As Time Went By,” written by José Sanabria, illustrated by José Sanabria, and translated from the German by Audrey Hall
Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division, for “The Ballad of a Broken Nose,” written by Arne Svingen and translated from the Norwegian by Kari Dickson

Pura Belpre (Author) Award

“Juana & Lucas," written and illustrated by Juana Medina, and published by Candlewick Press

Belpre (Author) Honor Book

“The Only Road,” written by Alexandra Diaz, and published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers/A Paula Wiseman Book

Pura Belpre (Illustrator) Award

“Lowriders to the Center of the Earth,” illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez, written by Cathy Camper, and published by Chronicle Books LLC

Belpre (Illustrator) Honor Books

“Esquivel!: Space-Age Sound Artist,” illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh, written by Susan Wood, and published by Charlesbridge
“The Princess and the Warrior: A Tale of Two Volcanoes,” illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh, and published by Abrams Books for Young Readers, an imprint of ABRAMS

Andrew Carnegie Medal

Ryan Swenar of Dreamscape Media, LLC, producer of “Drum Dream Girl: How One Girl’s Courage Changed Music”

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

“We Are Growing: A Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book,” written by Laurie Keller, and published by Disney-Hyperion, an imprint of Disney Book Group.

Geisel Honor Books

“Good Night Owl,” written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli, and published by Disney-Hyperion, an imprint of Disney Book Group.
“Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run! An Alphabet Caper,” written and illustrated by Mike Twohy, and published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.
“Go Otto Go!” written and illustrated by David Milgrim, and published by Simon Spotlight, an imprint of Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing Division.
“The Infamous Ratsos,” written by Kara LaReau, illustrated by Matt Myers, and published by Candlewick Press.

Odyssey Award

“Anna and the Swallow Man,” produced by Listening Library, an imprint of the Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, written by Gavriel Savit, and narrated by Allan Corduner

Odyssey Honor Audiobooks

“Ghost,” produced by Simon and Schuster Audio, written by Jason Reynolds, and narrated by Guy Lockard
“Dream On, Amber,” produced by Recorded Books, written by Emma Shevah, and narrated by Laura Kirman
“Nimona,” produced by HarperAudio, written by Noelle Stevenson, and narrated by Rebecca Soler, Jonathan Davis, Marc Thompson, January LaVoy, Natalie Gold, Peter Bradbury, and David Pittu

Robert F. Sibert Medal

"March: Book Three,” written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell, and published by Top Shelf Productions

Sibert Honor Books

"Giant Squid," written by Candace Fleming, illustrated by Eric Rohmann, A Neal Porter Book, published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership
“Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor’s Story," written by Caren Stelson, and published by Carolrhoda Books, a division of Lerner Publishing Group, Inc.
"Uprooted: The Japanese American Experience during World War II,” written by Albert Marrin, and published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC
“We Will Not Be Silent: The White Rose Student Resistance Movement that Defied Adolf Hitler,” written by Russell Freedman, and published by Clarion Books, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company