2012 Newbery Medal and Honor Books

2012 Medal Winner

Dead End in Norvelt cover imageThe 2012 Newbery Medal winner is  Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos, published by Farrar Straus Giroux

The importance of history and reading (so you don’t do the same “stupid stuff” again) is at the heart of this achingly funny romp through a dying New Deal town. While mopping up epic nose bleeds, Jack narrates this screw-ball mystery in an endearing and believable voice.

Who knew obituaries and old lady death could be this funny and this tender?” said Newbery Medal Committee Chair Viki Ash.


Audio Speech Cover: 2012 Newbery and Caldecott Acceptance Speeches



Listen to Jack Gantos Newbery Medal Acceptance Speech [Link downloads MP3 audio file/30MB]

Read Jack Gantos Newbery Medal Acceptance Speech


2012 Honor Books

Inside Out & Back Again book cover

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai, published by HarperCollins Children's Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers

Hà and her family flee war-torn Vietnam for the American South. In spare yet vivid verse, she chronicles her year-long struggle to find her place in a new and shifting world. 

Breaking Stalin's Nose book cover

Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Yelchin, published by Henry Holt and Company, LLC.

On the eve of his induction into the Young Pioneers, Sasha’s world is overturned when his father is arrested by Stalin’s guard. Yelchin deftly crafts a stark and compelling story of a child’s lost idealism.

Members of the 2012 Newbery Medal Selection Committee are:  Chair Viki Ash, San Antonio Public Library; Laura Amos, Norfolk (Va.) Collegiate School; Timothy D. Capehart, Dayton Metro Library (Ohio); Mary Clark, Greenwich (Conn.) Country Day School; Stacy Dillon, LREI, New York; Naphtali Faris, Missouri State Library, Jefferson City; Peter Howard, Louisville (Ky.) Free Public Library; Andy Howe, Simms Library, Albuquerque (N.M.) Academy; Maeve Visser Knoth, San Mateo (Calif.) County Library; Angelique  Kopa, Harford County Public Library, Belcamp, Md.; Renee C. McGrath, Nassau Library System, Uniondale, N.Y.; Mary Michell, Skokie (Ill.) Public Library; Andrea R. Milano, Multnomah County Library, Hollywood Branch; Portland, Ore.; Lynn M. Rutan; Holland, Mich.; and Amanda J. Williams, Austin (Texas) Public Library. 


To ALSC Literary & Related Awards Main Page

The Newbery and Caldecott Medals and Honor Book seals are property of the American Library Association and cannot be used in any form or reproduced without permission of the ALA Office of Rights and Permissions.