Symposium Preview: Midwinter 2014

Here There Be Dragons:  Public Access to Federally Funded Research

This ALCTS/bepress Digital Commons Symposium offers a unique opportunity to explore the complex issues surrounding the collection, organization, delivery and preservation of federally funded research.

In February 2013, the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy issued a memorandum directing federal agencies to expand public access to the results of taxpayer-funded research.  Several means of addressing this mandate, including Clearinghouse for the Open Research of the United States (CHORUS), offered by the Association of American Publishers, and SHared Access Research Ecosystem (SHARE), offered by the Association of Research Libraries, have been proposed.


  • Richard Huffine, Senior Director, U.S. Federal Government Market, ProQuest
  • P. Scott Lapinski, Digital Resources Librarian, Francis A. Countway Library of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Howard Ratner, Director of Development, CHOR Inc.
  • Olivia M. A. Madison, Dean of the Library, Iowa State University
  • Tyler Walters, Dean of University Libraries, Virginia Tech
  • Harrison Inefuku, Digital Repository Coordinator, Iowa State University
  • Rebecca Kennison, Director, Center for Digital Research and Scholarship, Columbia University
  • Emily McElroy, (Moderator), Head, Content Management & Systems, Oregon Health & Science University

Digital Commons powered by bepressThis symposium is the result of an ALCTS/bepress Digital Commons partnership. ALCTS thanks bepress/Digital Commons for supporting this event.

Event Information

Time & Date: Friday, January 24, 2014, 8:30 a.m.–4 p.m.

Location: Philadelphia Convention Center, room 204C, Philadelphia, PA

Separate ticket purchase required; Midwinter Meeting registration not required in order to purchase a ticket.


ALCTS Members $219, ALA Members $269

Retired Members $99. ALA Student Members $99

Nonmembers $319


Register through the ALA Midwinter registration form. Onsite registration will begin at 8 a.m. on the day of the event.