Preservation Outreach Committee


The Preservation Outreach Committee develops, facilitates, maintains and expands preservation focused outreach and service on behalf of ALCTS – PARS through the Preservation Week and Preservation in Action initiatives. Promotes these efforts through a variety of strategies, working closely with ALCTS liaison and staff. The Committee enhances outreach to the public, libraries, and other cultural institutions via social media, programing for the ALCTS Continuing Education Committee, and maintaining preservation focused resources for the Preservation Week website. Reports to the PARS executive committee.


Ms. Miriam Centeno (Chair, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Benjamin Bahlmann (Member, July 1, 2011, to November 11, 2012)
Donia Conn (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Kathleen Harrison (Member, November 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Ms. Michele P. Stricker (Member, July 1, 2012, to November 9, 2012)
Charles Wilt (ALCTS Executive Director, January 28, 2011, to February 13, 2015)
Christine McConnell (Staff Liaison, February 1, 2010, to September 30, 2015)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2012. Last retrieved on 06/23/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Preservation Week Committee consists of fourteen members appointed by the Chair-Elect. Members each serve a two-year term, and chairs or co-chairs who serve a one-year term. Service is limited to four consecutive years. The committee structure as of September 2016 is:

  • 2 co-chairs 
  • Continuing Education coordinator
  • Fundraising Committee liaison 
  • Secretary 
  • Social Media Coordinator
  • Preservation Week subcommittee (coordinator and 3 members)
  • Preservation in Action subcommittee (coordinator and 3 members) 


Established in 2009 at the request of ALCTS, the former task force was originally charged with investigating the value of promoting a Preservation Week, but in 2010 its scope changed to both initiate and continue the Preservation Week event. ALA has designated Preservation Week as Celebration Week event. At the ALA Midwinter Meeting in 2014, PARS changed the name of the group from Preservation Week Working Group to Preservation Week Committee. In September 2016, the committee was expanded to include the Preservation in Action initiative, and the committee was re-named the Preservation Outreach Committee. 

Get Involved

ALCTS values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on the committee. Members must be willing to devote time to this effort. Most meetings take place via conference calls.