New Members Working Group


Outlines a course of action to identify and welcome new members of PARS, gives further details about the section, and encourages member involvement. Reports to the PARS executive committee.


Gina L.B. Minks (Chair, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Julie Mosbo (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Christine McConnell (Staff Liaison, February 1, 2010, to June 30, 2015)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2012. Last retrieved on 06/25/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The New Members Working Group consists of five members (including the Chair), appointed by the PARS Chair-Elect, serving two year terms, led by a Chairperson and reporting to PARS Executive Committee.


Established in 2009 as a task force at the request of the PARS Executive Committee. The New Members Task Force was originally charged with developing a preliminary plan for welcoming new members, but in 2010, it became a permanent working group changed to implement the recommendations of the original task force.

Get Involved

ALCTS values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on the New Members Working Group starting in 2012, when the first members circulate off. Members must commit attend at least one meeting per year at ALA, be willing to collaborate by email, wiki, and/or conference call with other members of the working group, and participate in new membership welcoming activities during ALA conferences as appropriate.