Esther J. Piercy Award Jury


The jury shall, in correspondence and in meetings held at midwinter, by review of the nominations and through such investigations as they may wish to make, award the Esther J. Piercy award to recognize the contribution to those areas of librarianship included in library collections and technical services by a librarian with not more than ten years of professional experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contribution and leadership or decide that there is no qualified candidate for the year.


Carolynne Myall (Chair, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Ms. Ellen R. Caplan (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Ms. Kate M. Harcourt (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Steve Kelley (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Ms. Jodi L. Spillane (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Charles Wilt (Staff Liaison, June 1, 2005, to February 13, 2015)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2010. Last retrieved on 06/22/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Piercy Award Jury consists of four members led by a chair who are appointed by the ALCTS president-elect to a one-year term.


Established by the Resources and Technical Services Division of the American Library Association in 1968 in memory of Esther J. Piercy, editor of Journal of Cataloging and Classification from 1950 to 1956 and of Library Resources & Technical Services from 1957 to 1967.

Get Involved

ALA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on Piercy Award Jury. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out an application form. Appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1.