ALCTS Outstanding Publication Award


To review the literature published in the past calendar year and to select an author and article or book that the jury considers to be the best publication for the year on the field of acquisitions, collection development, and related areas of resources development in libraries. Materials may be considered in the second year following imprint date if such materials were published in the calendar year following the imprint date.


Rene J. Erlandson (Chair, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015)
Mrs. Lanette Garza (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015)
Jessica L. Hayden (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015)
Julia I. Hess (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015)
Amelia Mowry (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015)
Christine McConnell (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to September 30, 2015)
Charles Wilt (Staff Liaison, June 1, 2005, to February 13, 2015)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2014. Last retrieved on 02/24/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Outstanding Publication Award Jury consists of 5 members (a chair plus four members) who are appointed by the ALCTS president-elect from the membership at large. The term is one year.


This award was established prior to 1976 as the Blackwell's Scholarship. In 2010 the award was changed to the Outstanding Publication Award.

Get Involved

ALA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on this award jury. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out an application form. Appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1.