CMS Planning Committee


To serve as a focal point or clearinghouse for activities and ideas relating to collection management in ALA and other organizations, the library profession at large, the scholarly world and other communities; to draft or revise for executive committee approval an annual list of long-term section goals and maintain an ongoing list of trends and issues which are recommended to the executive committee as a focus for more immediate section activities; to review existing committees and discussion groups on a continuing basis, making sure that section activities are responsive to changing conditions and reflect the interests of a variety of library types, recommending changes in section structure as necessary; to coordinate the work of the policy and planning committee with the ALCTS planning committee.


Alison Bobal (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Cheryl Eileen Highsmith (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Scott B. Mandernack (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Marlene M. Slough (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Mrs. Susan E. Thomas (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Denise R. Gehring (Virtual Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Ms. Maris L. Hayashi (Virtual Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Colleen Major (Virtual Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Keri Cascio (Staff Liaison, January 15, 2015, to June 30, 2018)
Christine McConnell (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2018)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2015. Last retrieved on 03/27/2015. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Planning Committee consists of seven members drawn from the membership at large serving two-year terms and led by chair.


Established in 1991 at the request of CMS.

Get Involved

ALCTS values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on the CMS Planning Committee.  Members will help to generate potential activities of CMS and help to manage the section's committees and interest groups.  The Planning Committee is an excellent place to learn more about how both CMS and ALCTS function.

Staff Liaison

Keri Cascio
ALCTS Executive Director
(800) 545-2433 x5030