CaMMS Subject Analysis Committee


To study problems and recommend patterns, methods, and tools for optimizing subject and genre/form access to information resources, with an emphasis on classification and controlled vocabularies used to organize information. Also to provide a liaison for those areas of interest between CaMMS and other ALA and non-ALA organizations that have an interest in and concern for these systems, tools, and activities. (adapted October 2016)


Mrs. Elizabeth Perlman Bodian (Chair, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Paromita Biswas (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mrs. Jennifer C. L. Bromley (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mr. Brian Cain (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Elise J. Daniel (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Mr. Peter Vincent Fletcher (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Tina Gross (Member, January 22, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Ms. Karen Diane Miller (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Andrea M. Morrison (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
C. Rockelle Strader (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Matthew W. Wise (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Ms. Maria Hugger (Sears List of Subject Headings Rep, December 15, 2014, to June 30, 2018)
Sarah Espinosa (Intern, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Chris Long (Intern, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Robert L. Maxwell (SAC Liaison to CCDA, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Deborah A. Rose-Lefmann (Decimal Classification Editorial Policy Committee Rep, January 1, 2010, to December 31, 2018)
Lia Contursi (AALL Representative, July 14, 2014, to June 30, 2018)
Mr. Casey Mullin (Music Lib Assoc Representative, March 1, 2014, to June 30, 2018)
Mr. George A. Prager (International Federation of Library Associations Rep, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2019)
Caroline Saccucci (Library of Congress Dewey Program Liaison, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2020)
Janis L. Young (Library of Congress Liaison, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2020)
Keri Cascio (Staff Liaison, January 15, 2015, to June 30, 2018)
Julie Reese (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to July 31, 2017)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2015. Last retrieved on 05/22/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Subject Analysis Committee consists of 10 members appointed from the membership at large serving two-year terms and led by two co-chairs. There are also four liaisons, two interns, and seven representatives involved in the committee. (updated May 2018)

Subcommittees & Task Forces

SAC Subcommittee on Genre/Form Implementation

Subcommittee on FAST

Subcommittee on RDA


This group has a long history of addressing key subject analysis issues over the years. It has included working groups or task forces on the following issues:

  • Authority Records for GSAFD
  • Fiction Guidelines
  • Form Headings/Subdivisions Implementation
  • Library of Congress Classification Training Materials (Joint PCC SCT/CSS SAC Task Force)
  • Library of Congress Subject Heading Revisions Relating to the Poor People's Policy
  • Metadata and Classification
  • Metadata and Subject Analysis
  • Promote Subject Relationships/ Reference Structures
  • Revision of the Guidelines on Subject Access to Individual Works of Fiction
  • Semantic Interoperability
  • SWOT Subcommittee
  • Subject Analysis Training Materials
  • Subject Reference Structures in Automated Systems
  • Task Force on Named Buildings & Other Structures
  • Subject Relationships/Reference Structures

Get Involved

ALA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on CaMMS Subject Analysis Committee. Members are expected to be active, to attend three out of four meetings of the committee during their two-year appointment, and to become involved in various subcommittees or task forces. Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out an application form. Appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1.

Staff Liaison

Keri Cascio
ALCTS Executive Director
(800) 545-2433 x5030