Virtual Preconference: Shared Collection Development

Shared Collection Development: Collaborative Models for Digital Collections

An ALCTS Virtual Preconference

This two-day virtual preconference provides an overview of collection development for shared electronic resource collections.

The first session (90 minutes) describes a consortium eBook demand-driven acquisitions project from the perspective of a library vendor, eBook aggregator, and the consortium. The second session (one hour) addresses special considerations related to collection building and licensing shared electronic resource via consortia.

Course Level & Prerequisites

There are no prerequisites for attendance.

Presenters

Barbara Kawecki is the Senior Digital Content Sales Manager for the Western U.S and Western Canada at YBP Library Services. She joined YBP in 2006 as the Collection Development Manager for Colorado and Texas.
She received her MLS from the University of Denver and has held reference and collection development positions at the Colorado College and the El Paso County Law Library. Prior to joining YBP, Barbara spent 13 years as an Academic Sales Representative and Account Services Manager for EBSCO Information Services covering Colorado, Utah, Wyoming and Montana. She lives in the foothills outside of Denver.

Michael Levine-Clark is the Associate Dean for Scholarly Communications and Collections Services at the University of Denver Libraries. With colleagues from the Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries, he founded the open access journal Collaborative Librarianship, and serves as co-editor for scholarly articles. He has been a member or chair of many committees within the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) and the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), and has served on a variety of national and international publisher and vendor library advisory boards.  He is currently serving as the co-chair of a NISO working group to develop recommended practices for Demand Driven Acquisition of Monographs and as the co-editor of the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, 4th edition. He writes and speaks regularly on strategies for improving academic library collection development practices, including the use of e-books in academic libraries and the development of demand-driven acquisition models.

Athena Hoeppner is the Electronic Resources Librarian at the University of Central Florida. She has 17 years of experience in academic libraries.  She began her career in Reference and Instruction, where she indulged her love of user services, then moved to Library Systems, to indulge her fascination with computers and technology.  Athena now serves in Acquisitions, oversees a $4 million eResources budget, and manages technologies that provide and enhance access to the collection. Athena's work and research center on applying technology to connect users to content. Her projects explore usability, user interfaces, and technology for improving discovery of, and access to information.

Sadie Williams is the Vice President of Business Development at EBL - Ebook Library. Prior to joining EBL she held positions at YBP Library Services, Blackwell Book Services as well the University of Michigan Libraries. She is the incoming chair for the ALCTS AS Committee on Research and Statistics and serves on the ALCTS Affiliate Relations Committee.  Sadie currently lives in Portland, Oregon.

Dates & Times

This virtual preconference is comprised of two one-hour sessions over two days, Monday, June 10–Tuesday, June 11.

Date

Title

Presenter

Monday, June 10

Demand-Driven Acquisitions for a Shared eBook Collection: The Colorado Alliance Experience

Barbara Kawecki, Michael Levine-Clark and Sadie Williams

Tuesday, June 11

eResource Sharing: Getting Buy With a Little Help from Your Friends

Athena Hoeppner

     

Monday's session will be 90 minutes, begining at noon Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern.

Tuesday's session will be an hour, begining at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, 2pm Eastern.

Credits

No continuing education credits will be issued.

Fee

Participant Each ($) Both Sessions ($)
ALCTS Member (individual) 39 62
Nonmember (individual) 49 80
International (individual) 39 62
Group
Applies to group of people that will watch the webinar together from one access point. Group rate is the same for members and nonmembers.
99 168
Current ALA Student Members and LIS Faculty Free

All webinars are recorded and the one-time fee includes unlimited access to the webinar recording. All registered attendees will receive the link to the recorded session so if you are unable to attend the webinar at the time it is presented, you will have the opportunity to listen to the recording at your convenience

Technical Requirements

Computer with Internet access (high-speed connection is best) and media player software. Headphones recommended.

If you receive a Codec error when playing the recorded file with Windows Media Player, download the gotowebinar codec file from: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/codec?Portal=www.gotomeeting.com The Codec acts as a patch that allows the recording, which is created with a higher version of Media Player, to play in version 7. For more information on playing the recording, see the FAQ.

How to Register

To register, complete the online registration form or register by mail for the session you would like to attend.

Contact

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org.

For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org.