Virtual Preconference: Loan Agreements for Exhibits Materials

Loan Agreements for Exhibits Materials: The Basics

An ALCTS Virtual Preconference

Follow the conversation on Twitter: #ac13_loans

Increasingly, libraries are loaning collection materials to other institutions for exhibit, Unlike museums, libraries are often unprepared for this complicated process. This virtual preconference will lay down the basic elements of a loan agreement, including legal and financial expectations of both parties and the care and preservation of the borrowed item. A case study will offer advice and tips on creating a loan agreement from scratch, as well as direct participants to existing resources.

This virtual preconference is comprised of three one-hour sessions.  Sessions begin each day at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, 2pm Eastern.

Who Should Attend?

This virtual preconference is aimed at library and archives administration, curators, special collections staff, and preservation and conservation staff.

Course Level & Prerequisites

There are no prerequisites for attendance.

Presenters

Kristina Bottomley,  Registrar, Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University

Tonia Grafakos, Conservation Librarian, Northwestern University Library

Sara Stigberg, Acting Art Collection Public Services Librarian, Northwestern University Library

Dates & Times

Available 24/7. This virtual preconference is comprised of three one-hour sessions originally presented over three days, Tuesday, June 18, Wednesday, June 19, and Thursday, June 20.

 

Title

Presenter

Introduction to Loan Agreements

Kristina Bottomley

Conservation and Preservation Issues

Tonia Grafakos

Case Study – Northwestern University Library

Sara Stigberg

Credits

No continuing education credits will be issued.

Fee

Free.

Technical Requirements

Computer with Internet access (high-speed connection is best) and media player software. Headphones recommended.

If you receive a Codec error when playing the recorded file with Windows Media Player, download the gotowebinar codec file from: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/codec?Portal=www.gotomeeting.com The Codec acts as a patch that allows the recording, which is created with a higher version of Media Player, to play in version 7. For more information on playing the recording, see the FAQ.

How to Register

No registration required. Access recordings now:

Day 1: Introduction to Loan Agreements, presented by Kristina Bottomley

Recording (.wmv)

Slides (.pdf)

Day 2: Conservation and Preservation Issues, presented by Tonia Grafakos

Recording (YouTube)

Recording (.wmv)

Slides (.pdf)

Day 3: Case Study – Northwestern University Library, presented by Sara Stigberg

Recording (YouTube)

Recording (.wmv)

Slides (.pdf)

Contact

For questions or comments related to this free webinar, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org.