Understanding RDA in an Easy Way (in Spanish)

Versión española/Spanish version

This webinar is in Spanish. It provides an introduction to RDA, the new cataloging code, including its origins, principles, characteristics and structure. The theoretical framework of the new code, the FRBR model, will also be addressed. Moreover, the differences between the previous rules (AACR2) and RDA will be approached.

Who Should Attend?

Library Information Science teachers and students interested in the new cataloging standard; Catalogers facing challenges of RDA adoption, understanding and application.

Presenter

Dr. Felipe Martínez Arellano, is a researcher at the Institute of Research on Library Science and Information, and Professor at the Graduate Program on Library and Information Studies at the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico. His research interests are information organization, cataloging, and metadata. He is a guest lecturer, international speaker, and author of diverse publications on these topics.

Date & Times

Friday, April 4, 2014

sessions are intended to last 1 hour, starting:
11 am Pacific | 12 Mountain | 1 pm Central | 2 pm Eastern | 6 pm Greenwich Mean Time

Credits

none

Fee

Participant Fee ($USD)
ALCTS Member (individual) 20
Nonmember (individual) 20
International (individual) 20
Groups. Applies to group of people that will watch the webinar together from one access point.  
Member group 50
Nonmember group 50

All webinars are recorded and the one-time fee includes unlimited access to the webinar recording. All registered attendees will receive the link to the recorded session so if you are unable to attend the webinar at the time it is presented, you will have the opportunity to listen to the recording at your convenience.

Technical Requirements

Computer with Internet access (high-speed connection is best) and media player software. Headphones recommended.

If you receive a Codec error when playing the recorded file with Windows Media Player, download the gotowebinar codec file from: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/codec?Portal=www.gotomeeting.com The Codec acts as a patch that allows the recording, which is created with a higher version of Media Player, to play in version 7. For more information on playing the recording, see the FAQ.

How to Register

To register, complete the online registration form or register by mail for the session you would like to attend.

Contact

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org.

For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org