Government Information: Now and in the Future

Many information resources from the federal government are now available online. Given that fact, do libraries still need to collect government documents in physical formats? Why? If you aren't a Federal Depository Library (FDL), how do you find out what resources are available? How do you direct your patrons to them? Who's going to preserve all this electronic information so people can access it in the future?

Please join us for an exciting and informative e-forum November 13–14 to discuss how libraries, both FDLs and nondepositories, are currently providing access to government information and how they can face the challenges of providing government information in the future. This e-forum will provide participants an opportunity to talk about what their libraries are doing to discover, provide, and preserve government information. Librarians and technical services staff from all types of libraries are invited to participate.

Who Should Attend?

Anyone with an interest in this topic can benefit from this e-forum and is welcome to participate.

Host

Lori Smith is the Government Documents Department Head at Southeastern Louisiana University's Sims Memorial Library, and the 2012-2013 Coordinator of the Federal Documents Task Force of ALA's Government Documents Round Table. Smith has worked with federal and state publications since 1987. She conceived, edited, and coauthored the 2003 book Tapping State Government Information Sources, and contributed a chapter to the 2008 book Managing Electronic Government Information in Libraries: Issues and Practices.

Dates & Times

Tuesday and Wednesday, November 13 and 14, 2012

Each day, sessions begin and end at:

Pacific: 6:30am – 2:30pm
Mountain: 7:30am – 3:30pm
Central: 8:30am – 4:30pm
Eastern: 9:30am – 5:30pm

Fee

Free

Technical Requirements

Internet connection and email address.

How to Register

You must register your email address to subscribe to or access an electronic discussion list on ALA's Mailing List Service. Find instructions for subscribing online.

Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the list.

Contact

If you have trouble subscribing to the discussion list or have questions, please contact alcts@ala.org. Or, contact the ALCTS e-Forum Coordinator at eforum-help@ala.org