Real Leaders in a Virtual World: Tools and Strategies for Successful Virtual Meetings

Working with a group of geographically dispersed colleagues to accomplish committee and job objectives is increasingly possible with virtual meeting technology. But it isn’t always easy to get started or to get buy-in (as many on ALA committees know). This e-forum will explore needs, frustrations (including techno-fear), ideas, and solutions for holding virtual meetings, both for leaders and participants.

Topics will include:

  • How to get buy-in from group members and administrators.
  • How to lead in a virtual environment.
  • How to make the transition to holding virtual meetings.
  • What are the best tools for virtual work.
  • How to engage and be engaged as a virtual participant.
  • How to accomplish goals and meet deadlines virtually.

Who Should Attend?

Anyone with an interest in the topic can benefit from this session and is welcome to participate.

Course Level & Prerequisites

none.

Hosts

Jane Gov, MLIS (SJSU), is currently a public services Librarian at Pasadena Public Library (CA). She was formerly head of the Support Services Dept. at Beverly Hills Public Library and has also worked in both public and technical services at Crowell Public Library (CA). Her professional interests have grown to include a variety of areas in the library world including electronic collections, cataloging, teaching and leadership, literacy services, and youth services. In addition to ALCTS’ Leadership Development Committee, Jane is also active in YALSA and ALSC.

Valerie Buck, MLS (SCSU), MA (BYU), is the Rare Anglo-American Literature Cataloger at Brigham Young University. Before this she was Senior Cataloger at Brigham Young University-Hawaii in a small library where she gained experience in all areas of librarianship. Presently Valerie is very active in the Rare Books and Manuscripts section of ACRL, serving on their Bibliographic Standards Committee. She also serves on the Research Committee for ACRL’s Women and Gender Studies section, and on the Leadership Development Committee for ALCTS.

Dates & Times

Tuesday and Wednesday, September 17–18, 2013.

Each day, discussion begins and ends at:

 

  • Pacific: 7 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Mountain: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • Central: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
  • Eastern: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Credits

none

Fee

free

Technical Requirements

Internet connection with an email address.

How to Register

You must register your email address to subscribe to or access an electronic discussion list on ALA's Mailing List Service. Find instructions for subscribing online.

Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the list.

Contact

If you have trouble subscribing to the discussion list or have questions, please contact the e-Forum Coordinator at eforumcoord@ala.org.