Discovery Tool Implementation and Selection

May 15 and 16, 2012
Hosted by Bill Walsh and Nara Newcomer

Go to the discussion archive.

Join future e-Forums. Learn how to subscribe and manage your subscription. It's quick and easy.

The discovery interface market is exploding, with current products including EBSCO Discovery Service, Serials Solutions Summon, Ex Libris Primo Central, OCLC WorldCat Local, Blacklight, VuFind, Aquabrowser, and more. These tools (both vendor-supplied and open-source) promise faceted browsing as well as ability to integrate multiple content silos; some come with vendor-provided cloud indexes to articles, e-books, and other electronic content. The newest development is a cloud-based back end designed to replace the ILS, including OCLC’s WorldShare, Serials Solutions Intota, and Ex Libris Alma. In today’s world, tools differ not just in the quality of features provided, but in overarching functionality provided and in scope of coverage. The e-forum will address factors to consider when selecting a tool, strategies for evaluating tools, and keys to successful implementation.

Hosts

Nara Newcomer is Assistant Music Librarian at East Carolina University, where her duties include cataloging, public services work, and maintaining the music library’s web pages. Nara has worked closely with discovery selection and implementation at ECU, including Serials Solutions Summon, WorldCat Local, and SirsiDynix Symphony e-library OPAC. She is leading the creation of the Music Library Association’s “Music Discovery Requirements” document, which explores and provides recommendations for meeting the unique demands music materials pose for discovery.

Bill Walsh is Head of Technical Services at Georgia State University Library, which implemented EBSCO Discovery Service last summer after evaluating other options. He is co-chair of the library’s discover group.

Dates & Times

Tuesday and Wednesday, May 15 and 16, 2012

Each day, sessions begin and end at:

  • Pacific: 7am – 3pm
  • Mountain: 8am – 4pm
  • Central: 9am – 5 pm
  • Eastern: 10am – 6pm

Credits

none

Fee

Free

Technical Requirements

Email with an internet connection.

How to Register

You must register to subscribe to or access an electronic discussion list on ALA's Mailing List Service. Find instructions for subscribing online. Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the list.

Questions?

If you have trouble subscribing to the discussion list or have questions, please contact alcts@ala.org. Or, contact e-Forum Coordinator, Kristin Martin, kmarti@uic.edu.