I’m Lost: The Future of Cataloging and Metadata Management for the Rest of Us

Tuesday, 5/3/2016
  • 10:00 AM (Eastern)
  • 9:00 AM (Central)
  • 8:00 AM (Mountain)
  • 7:00 AM (Pacific)

Many discussions these days focus on the technical or theoretical questions surrounding the direction that cataloging and metadata management is headed in the world of libraries. While our colleagues at larger institutions work on these issues, many of us are left wondering, “What should I be doing right now to prepare for the future?” Most of us are not computer programmers or experts in the semantic web. But do we really need to be? This forum will discuss some of the concerns and questions we have about the future of cataloging and metadata management. We will look at areas we would like training in right now to prepare us for the future. The focus will be on practical, hands-on training ideas that can be implemented in our current environment of uncertainty.

Learning Outcomes

  • Identify key areas of concern among librarians about upcoming changes in the world of cataloging and metadata.
  • Discuss areas of training that cataloging and metadata librarians feel they need to face the eventual changes in their world.
  • Develop possible topics for future training sessions at ALA conferences.

Who Should Attend

Any librarian who works in a cataloging or metadata environment. The focus of the discussion will be non-technical and pragmatic in nature.


Karl Pettitt is the Technical Services Librarian at the David C. Shapiro Memorial Law Library at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, IL. He previously served as the Catalog Librarian at Wheaton College, IL.

April Grey is the Director of Library Collections, Discovery, and Access Services at Wofford College in Spartanburg, SC. She received her M.L.S. from the University at Buffalo. Previously she was the Catalog Librarian at Adelphi University.




How to Register

You must register your email address to subscribe to or access an electronic discussion list on ALA's Mailing List Service. Find instructions for subscribing online.

Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the list. Find instructions for unsubscribing.

Tech Requirements

Internet connection with email address. You can manage your subscription to this list following the online instructions.




Contact the e-Forum Coordinator at alcts-eforum-request@lists.ala.org with questions or concerns.