Data Access and Management: The Library’s Role

March 26 and 27, 2012
Hosted by Brad Gulliford and Jeff Downing

Go to the discussion archive.

Join future e-Forums. Learn how to subscribe and manage your subscription. It's quick and easy.

Sets or collections of data (including scientific, social services, and demographic) have become more visible and available. Libraries are places of information storage and access, but are data and data support services a good fit for libraries and librarians?

Traditionally, researchers stored and administered their data independently of libraries (although there were some repositories). Now conventional libraries are contemplating an expansion of their services to include assistance in locating data, acting as consultants as researchers file data management plans, and making data accessible via local hosting.

This e-forum will discuss the collections aspect of hosting large data files, the acquisitions aspect of “accessioning” materials requiring no shelving or payment, and the technical services aspect of sharing responsibilities with reference. We will also discuss providing information about filing data management plans and making original data accessible.

Who Should Attend

Anyone with an interest in this topic can benefit from the event.

Course Level & Prerequisites

None.

Hosts

Brad Gulliford and Jeff Downing are librarians in the acquisitions and collection development department of the library of the University of Texas at Arlington, in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. Brad’s subject areas are most of the sciences and engineering, and he blogs at Scholarly communication, Open Access, Open Science (http://blog.uta.edu/~bradley/). Jeff covers economics, political science, psychology, and urban planning, and, drawing on his technical services experience at the Superconducting Super Collider Library, serves on the reference desk of UT Arlington’s Science and Engineering Library.

Dates & Times

Monday and Tuesday March 26-27

Each day, sessions begin and end at:

  • Pacific: 7am – 3pm
  • Mountain: 8am – 4pm
  • Central: 9am – 5 pm
  • Eastern: 10am – 6pm

Credits

None

Fee

Free.

Technical Requirements

Email account with an internet connection.

Registration

You must register to subscribe to or access an electronic discussion list on ALA's Mailing List Service. Find instructions for subscribing online. Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the list.

Questions?

If you have trouble subscribing to the discussion list or have questions, please contact alcts@ala.org. Or, contact e-Forum Coordinator, Kristin Martin, kmarti@uic.edu.