Library Linked Data

Join this ALCTS e-Forum for a lively discussion on what linked data means for libraries. Linked Data refers to practices for publishing and linking data—cataloging data; research or government data; subject heading lists and authority files; and the riches of the World Wide Web. Using linked data methods (cataloging standards such as RDF, as well as Web protocols such as HTTP), the scope of the linked, and always further linkable, data space is incomprehensibly large—the potential is thrilling! The hope for libraries is that we can move our data into this massive data space and thereby increase the global interoperability of library data. Many benefits are anticipated!

Topics will include basic linked data definitions and information, current linked data activities in libraries, how workflows may change or have changed due to linked data, challenges with transitioning to a linked data environment, what will linked data mean for catalogers in the future, and more.

To prepare for the e-forum, the following list of resources are recommended for an introduction to the topic of linked data:

Hosts

Theo Gerontakos has been a Metadata Librarian since 2002, and is currently Metadata Librarian at the University of Washington in Seattle. He is also currently Co-Chair of the American Library Association's interest group on Linked Library Data (ALCTS/LITA).

Brad Gulliford started as a cataloger at United Technologies Corporation, and then moved to the University of Texas at Arlington, in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. After years in collection development for science and engineering, he proposed a library role with data (refined by an earlier ALCTS e-forum), and his present appointment involves curating data sets, both internal and public.

Jeremy Myntti is the Head of Cataloging and Metadata Services at the University of Utah's J. Willard Marriott Library. He is responsible for optimizing metadata creation for the library's physical and digital collections as well as identifying innovative solutions for cataloging and metadata projects. Current research interests and projects that he is working on include authority control for digital collection metadata and transforming MARC and non-MARC metadata into linked data.

Dates & Times

March 11-12, 2014


Each day, the discussion begins and ends at:

Pacific: 7 a.m.–3 p.m.

Mountain: 8.a.m.–4 p.m.

Central: 9.a.m.–5 p.m.

Eastern: 10 a.m.–6 p.m.

Credits

none

Fee

free

Technical Requirements

Internet connection with email address. You can manage your subscription to this list following the online instructions.

How to Register

You must register your email address to subscribe to or access an electronic discussion list on ALA's Mailing List Service. Find instructions for subscribing online.

Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the list. Find instructions for unsubscribing.