Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award

Deadline for nominations is December 1.


This award honors the life and accomplishments of Hugh C. Atkinson, one of the major innovators in modern librarianship, and recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) by academic librarians that have contributed significantly to improvements in the areas of library automation, library management, and library development and research.


The nominee must be a librarian employed in one of the following during the year prior to application for this award:

  • University, college, or community college library
  • Non-profit consortium, or a consortium comprised of non-profits that provides resources/services/support to  academic libraries
    The nominee must have a minimum of five years of professional experience in an academic library or in a non-profit consortium or a consortium comprised of non-profits.

Submission Procedure

Electronic submissions are required. Nominations must include documentation that indicates the name, address, and phone number of both the nominating party and the nominee as well as a narrative supporting the nomination, and a current vita. Nominators are encouraged to solicit additional letters that would help the committee understand the full scope of the nominee’s contributions.

Please e-mail the nomination to Casey Kinson, If sending multiple files, each file name must include the nominee's name.


The award consists of a citation and a cash award, which is is funded by an endowment created by divisional, individual, and vendor contributions given in memory of Hugh C. Atkinson. The award is jointly sponsored by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA), and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA).


The award is presented during the ALA Annual Conference at the sponsoring divisions' award ceremony. Divisions share presenting the award on a rotating schedule.

Award Jury

For nomination information or if you have questions, please contact Casey Kinson,

Award Recipients

Recipients of the Hugh C Atkinson Award
Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient
2011 Carol Mandel 2012 John F. Helmer 2013 Lizabeth A. Wilson
2010 Paula T. Kaufman 2000 Kenneth Frazier 1990 Russell Shank
2009 Ray English 1999 Susan K. Nutter 1989 Thomas Michalak
2008 No Recipient 1998 Arnold Hirshon 1988 Richard M. Dougherty
2007 James G. Neal 1997 William Gray Potter    
2006 Nancy Cline 1996 Thomas W. Shaughnessy    
2005 Paul M. Gherman 1995 Nancy L. Eaton    
2004 Jerome Yavarkovsky 1994 Dorothy Gregor    
2003 Wendy Pradt Lougee 1993 Richard De Gennaro    
2002 Harold W. Billings 1992 Miriam Drake    
2001 Larry Frye 1991 Donald E. Riggs