Award Recipients

The 2012 ALCTS awards were decided at the Midwinter Meeting in Dallas, Texas. The winners were announced in February, and will receive their awards at the Annual Conference in Anaheim. They are:

  • Best of LRTS Award: Erin Stalberg and Christopher Cronin
  • Coutts Award for Innovation in Electronic Resources Management: Lenore England
  • Esther J. Piercy Award: Tim Strawn
  • First Step Award: Beth Larkee Kumar
  • Harrassowitz Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions: Lisa German
  • Jan Merrill-Oldham Travel Award: Helen Bailey
  • LBI George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award: Gregor Trinkaus-Randall
  • Margaret Mann Citation: Jane Greenberg
  • Outstanding Collaboration Citation: Queens Memory Project
  • Outstanding Publication Award: Jeffrey Beall
  • Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award: Julie Page
  • Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award: Pamela Bluh
  • Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award: Valerie Bross

Professional News

Dr. Deanna Marcum recently joined ITHAKA as Managing Director, Ithaka S+R. Deanna will lead this growing not-for-profit service, which provides research and strategic consulting services that help transform scholarship and teaching.  

“As I retire from the Library of Congress, I want to remain engaged and devote more time to the issues I am passionate about: preservation, the future of information organizations, and higher education,” said Dr. Marcum. “Ithaka S+R provides the perfect opportunity for me to do this work and hopefully make a difference in these areas. I’ve watched the rapid development of ITHAKA as a board member and am excited about more direct involvement with the talented staff.”

Adrienne Bell was recently appointed the Preservation Librarian for the Sheridan Libraries at Johns Hopkins University. Reporting to the Associate Director for Conservation and Preservation, the Preservation Librarian will be responsible for general collection assessment and conservation, disaster preparedness and response, commercial binding, and digital reformatting of collections.

Adrienne has served as Associate Rare Book Conservator and field officer at Etherington Conservation since 2004. She has been an active and strong voice in ALA along with an active career as a bench conservator. Adrienne most recently completed a book conservation internship at the Folger Shakespeare Library. In Fall of 2010, she was the Helen Ohrenschall Book and Paper Conservation Intern at Johns Hopkins University. Adrienne will bring both her bench expertise and her preservation management experience to this position.

Katherine Lechuga has been appointed to Conservation Lab Manager in the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County. She will be responsible for the management of two staff and the conservation bench area of the Public Library and UC Libraries Preservation Department. In addition, Katherine will plan, document and perform complex conservation treatments on library materials, including rare books, bound and unbound manuscripts, photographs, prints, maps and drawings on paper or parchment from the collections of both the Public Library and UC.

Katherine is the Assistant Conservator for the Hesburgh Libraries, at the University of Notre Dame where she currently performs treatments on Special Collections materials. She received her MSIS degree and CAS in library conservation in 2009 from the University of Texas at Austin. She is a member of the American Institute for Conservation.