News From ALA

Spring 2009 ALA Election Will be Completely Online

The Spring 2009 ALA election will be the Association's first all online election. ALA President Jim Rettig has noted that the number of online voters has grown steadily in the last five years, which is when online voting was first made available. Most the members who vote do so online, and online balloting has increased member participation in the voting process.

Those members who have not provided an email address to the Association by March 1, 2009 will receive a paper mailing with information about the election website and an election password. Additionally, a print version of the ballots will be available by request.

Volunteer for ALA and Council Committees for 2009–2010

ALA President-Elect Camila Alire is seeking member volunteers for the 2009–2010 ALA and Council committees. Interested members may complete an online committee volunteer form. The deadline for completing the form is December 5, 2008.

Volunteers are needed for the following ALA and Council committees:

Accreditation; Advocacy; American Libraries Advisory; Awards; Budget, Analysis and Review; Chapter Relations; Conference; Constitution and Bylaws; Council Orientation; Diversity; Education; Election; Human Resource Development and Recruitment Advisory; Information Technology Policy Advisory; Intellectual Freedom; International Relations; Legislation; Literacy; Literacy and Outreach Services Advisory; Membership; Membership Meetings; Nominating Organization; Orientation, Training and Leadership Development; Policy Monitoring; Professional Ethics; Public and Cultural Programs Advisory; Public Awareness; Publishing; Research and Statistics; Resolutions; Rural, Native and Tribal Libraries of All Kinds; Scholarships and Study Grants; Status of Women in Librarianship; Website Advisory; ALA-Children’s Book Council (Joint); ALA-Association of American of Museums (Joint); and ALA-Association of American Publishers (Joint).

Find information about the committees in the ALA Handbook of Organization. Contact Eileen Hardy, Executive Board Secretariat ( or (800) 545-2433 for more information on committee appointments.

SirsiDynix and ALA-APA Offer $5000 Salaries and Status Award

The American Library Association-Allied Professional Association (ALA-APA) is seeking nominees for a $5,000 award, courtesy of the SirsiDynix Corporation. ALA-APA is seeking individuals and organizations that have made a positive change in the salaries or status of librarians and/or support staff. Candidates must have three nominations. Self-nominations are permitted. The deadline is Friday, December 12, 2008. Find the application form online.

The award recipient does not have to be an ALA member or a current or past library staff member. Officers of the ALA or the ALA-Allied Professional Association are not eligible for the award, nor are members of the Jury, ALA-APA Standing Committee on the Salaries and Status of Library Workers or employees of SirsiDynix. Information about last year's winners is available online.

Nominations will be reviewed by the Award Jury, which is chaired by Linda Dobb, California State University Library East Bay, at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting in January 2009 in Denver. Winner(s) will be honored at the ALA Annual Conference in June 2009 in Chicago.

Bogle Pratt International Travel Fund

The American Library Association is accepting applications for the 2009 Bogle Pratt International Library Travel Fund sponsored by the Bogle Memorial Fund and the Pratt Institute School of Information and Library Science. An award of $1,000 is given to an ALA personal member to attend his first international conference. An international conference may be defined as a conference sponsored by an international organization or a conference held in a country other than your home country. The application deadline is January 1, 2009. The winner will be announced after the 2009 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Denver.

Applications should be sent to: International Relations Office, American Library Association, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611-2795; email: more information on the award, including the application form and past award recipients online.