Task Force on Non-English Access Available for Comment

The ALCTS Board has approved the report of the Task Force on Non-English Access, and made it available for comment on the ALCTS website. Comments must be submitted by December 1, 2006.

Beth Picknally Camden chaired the Task Force, and members include: Joan Aliprand, Diana M. Brooking, Karen Coyle, Ann Della Porta, Shi Deng, William J. Kopycki, Heidi G. Lerner, Kristin Lindlan, Sally H. McCallum, David N. Nelson, Glenn Patton, and Karen Smith-Yoshimura.

The Task Force was charged with reviewing past and current activities in providing access to materials in non-English languages, and to make recommendations for future actions. The report includes recommendations for specific actions concerning technical specifications, cataloging guidelines, continuing education, communication, and staffing.

The NewsLinks section of the ALCTS web site contains links to the full report (70+ page .pdf), executive summary (.pdf), recommendations (.pdf), announcement press release, and the online comment form.

In addition to the formal comments form, interested librarians may subscribe to the electronic list and participate in discussion about the report, or other issues related to non-English access.

ALCTS and the Catalog Form and Function Interest Group will sponsor a Forum on the topic of Non-English Access on Saturday, January 20, 10:30 a.m.-noon at the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Seattle. Location to be determined.