From the President

rosann bazirjian, alcts president

Letters from ALCTS

From the President

Rosann V. Bazirjian, ALCTS President

The Year in Retrospect

It has been a busy and rewarding year as ALCTS President—an experience that I would not want to have missed! This has been a truly productive year. We really moved forward in four distinct areas.

First, continuing education has been a cornerstone of ALCTS, and this past year, not only were our three continuing education workshops popular, but we developed five new workshops to add to the repertoire. These new workshops focus primarily on collection development cataloging/metadata and digital projects management. Our Education Action Summit held during Midwinter in San Antonio was designed to move us into even higher gear in the area of continuing education.

Second, policy formulation and collaboration have become primary focuses for us this year. We issued statements and joined with ARL and ACRL regarding the preservation of scholarly electronic resources. We also passed a resolution regarding the dissemination and preservation of government information in digital form as well as a statement to the Library of Congress regarding the recent decision regarding series authority records.

Third, we continue to focus on the dissemination of quality publications, and this year we published six new titles, with three additional titles forthcoming. We have also produced six Web publications. This has surely been a banner publishing year for ALCTS. And finally, fourth, we have organized multiple task forces on such issues as evolving communications technology, digital preservation, non-English access, all designed to examine current issues of concern and make recommendations for future action. Of course, we have a group working on the planning for our 50th Anniversary celebration in 2007!

Again, it has been a wonderful year! I would like to congratulate our new officers, Pamela Bluh (President-Elect) and Kay Walter (Director at Large), as well as our new Section Chair-Elects: Lynda Fuller Clendenning, Mary Charles Lasater, Betty Landesman, Carol Hryciw-Wing, Andrew Hart and Daisy Waters, and our Section Members-at-Large: Patricia Adams, Kate Harcourt, Joan Schuitema, Jeff Kosokoff, Kathy Tezla, Karen Brown, Rachel Frick, and finally Paul Moeller, elected Secretary of the Serials Section. Congratulations to all of you! I wish Bruce Johnson the very best in this coming year as President!