2006 Award Winners Announced

The ALCTS award juries reported the results of their deliberations to the Board, which approved the following award winners during its Midwinter sessions in San Antonio. Formal presentations of each award will be made at the Division’s awards ceremony during the ALA Annual Meeting in New Orleans in June 2006. Congratulations to all the award winners!

Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award

Gary Frost, University of Iowa

Best of LRTS

Jennifer Bowen, "FRBR: Coming Soon to Your Library," LRTS, 49, no. 3 (July 2005), 175-188.

Blackwell’s Scholarship Award

John Willinsky, The Access Principle: The Case for Open Access to Research and Scholarship, MIT Press 2006.

CSA/Ulrich’s (formerly Bowker/Ulrich’s)

Karen Hunter, Elsevier Science

First Step/Professional Development Grant

Patrick Carr, Mississippi State University

Leadership in Library Acquisitions

Stephen Bosch, University of Arizona

Margaret Mann Citation

Judith Hopkins (retired), SUNY-Buffalo

Esther J. Piercy Award

Jill Emery, University of Houston (University of Texas beginning in May 2006)

Sage Support Staff Travel Grants

Donna Hanna, State University of New York at Geneseo

Darlene Hert, Montana State University, Billings

Lucretia “Trish” Pelletier, Apache Junction Public Library, Apache Junction, Arizona

Susan Prefontaine, State University of New York at Buffalo

Scott David Reinke, University of Hawai’i at Manoa

Mary Tilley, University of Nebraska, Lincoln