Key Actions from ALCTS Board

ALA Midwinter Meeting 2005, Boston, MA

ALCTS Board 2004-2005 ALCTS Board 2004-2005

Front row, left to right: Miriam Palm (ALCTS Newsletter Online Editor); Brian Schottlaender (ALCTS Past President); Carol Pitts Diedrichs (ALCTS President); Rosann Bazirjian (ALCTS President-Elect); Cynthia Clark (Chair, CRG).
Row 2, left to right: Katherine Walter (Chair, Budget & Finance Committee); Lisa German (Chair, Acquisitions Section); Karen Darling (Director-at-Large); Lauren Corbett (Chair, Serials Section); Barbara Eden (Chair, Organization & Bylaws Committee); Yvonne Carignan (Chair, Preservation and Reformatting Section).
Row 3, left to right: Mary Case (Director-at-Large); Charles Wilt (ALCTS Executive Director); Bruce Chr. Johnson (ALCTS Councilor); Larry Alford (Chair, Collection Management and Development Section); John Duke (Director-at-Large); Helen Reed (Chair, Planning Committee); Sara Shatford Layne (Chair, Cataloging and Classification Section).

Following are the key actions, in summary form, taken by the ALCTS Board of Directors during the 2005 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston. Routine actions, such as adopting agendas and approving minutes, are not included.

  • Moved that the Library of Congress Action Plan task force assume an additional assignment, a study to promote research into integration of the catalog (item 6.4).
  • Moved that ALCTS and CCS be commended for fifty years of assistance with editing the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme.
  • Moved that ALCTS endorse changes to the Dewey Editorial Policy Committee's bylaws and stagger term lengths and limits on that body.
  • Approved the FY04 budget report.
  • Approved the preliminary FY 2006 budget.
  • Moved that the Support Staff Travel Grant become a permanent award, contingent on funding.
  • Approved the publication of Celebrating Ross Atkinson in the ALCTS papers series.
  • Accepted the recommendations of seven award juries for the 2005 award presentations.
  • Accepted and approved the 2005 division, section and CRG election slate as proposed by the division Nominating Committee.