ALCTS Seeks Nominations for 2004 Awards

Each year ALCTS presents eight awards to honor individuals whose work represents the finest achievements in research, creative work, leadership and service in the field of library collections and technical services. A key element in the success of these awards is the help that you, the ALCTS members, provide in identifying colleagues whose accomplishments merit recognition. Juries appointed to select recipients for the awards are currently seeking nominations. A brief description of each award, along with relevant criteria for selection, appears below. The deadline for nominations and supporting documentation is December 1, 2003.

The awards are:

The Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award, established to honor the memory of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation. The award, $1,500 and a citation, sponsored by Preservation Technologies, L.P., is given to a professional preservation specialist who has been active in the field of preservation and/or conservation for library and/or archival materials. Winners will be chosen based on leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national levels; contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines; significant contribution to professional literature; evidence of studies or research in preservation; and training and mentoring in the field of preservation. Nominations must include a formal statement of nomination, a brief rationale for the nomination, and a resume or narrative career outline.
Send nominations to: Joy Paulson,

The Best of LRTS Award is given to the author(s) of the best paper published in Library Resources & Technical Services ( LRTS), the official journal of ALCTS. Papers published in volume 45 (2001) are eligible for consideration, with the exception of official reports and documents, obituaries, letters to the editor and biographies of award winners. Each paper will be judged on the following points: content with a significant contribution about one or more issues addressed by ALCTS and its sections; statements in the paper are adequately supported by accurate data and/or documentation; and clear and readable writing style. Nominations must include the title of the paper being nominated, and the reasons for the nomination.
Send nominations to: Ross Atkinson,

The Blackwell's Scholarship Award honors an author or a group of authors who has written an outstanding monograph, article or original paper in the field of acquisitions, collection development or related areas of resources development in libraries. Blackwell's will donate a $2,000 scholarship to the United States or Canadian library school of the winning author's choice. The scholarship will be given to a student concentrating in the acquisitions or collection development areas. Publications from 2000 and 2001 are eligible. Reprints of earlier publications will not be accepted. The evaluation criteria include: intellectual content, practical value, theoretical value, scholarship, presentation, and style. Nominations must include a statement giving the full bibliographic citation of the article, book or paper being nominated, and reasons for the nomination.
Send nominations to: Robert Holley,

The Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award is presented by the ALCTS Serials Section, and consists of a citation and $1,500 donated by R. R. Bowker. The award is given for distinguished contributions to serials librarianship, including such activities as leadership in serials-related activities through participation in professional associations and/or library education programs; contributions to the body of serials literature; conduct of research in the area of serials; development of tools or methods to enhance access to or management of serials; and other advances leading to a better understanding of the field of serials.
Send nominations to: Beverley Geer,

The First Step Award is a Wiley Professional Development Grant and is presented by the ALCTS Serials Section. The award provides librarians who are new to the serials field with the opportunity to broaden their perspectives, and encourages professional development and participation at American Library Association (ALA) conferences and Serials Section activities. All ALA members with five or fewer years of professional experience in the serials field, who have not previously attended an ALA Annual Conference, are eligible. The award consists of $1,500 that is applicable toward round trip transportation, lodging, registration fees, etc. Eligible applicants may apply more than once. Winners will be chosen based on commitment to professional development in the serials field, as evidenced by participation in continuing education activities, workshops and previous participation in professional activities; candidate's written justification for the grant in terms of commitment to and interest in serials-related work; personal professional development; financial need; two letters of reference; and a vita.
Send nominations to: Karen Darling,

The Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award is presented by the ALCTS Acquisitions Section for contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual to the field of acquisitions librarianship. The award consists of a citation and $1,500 donated by Harrassowitz. Winners will be chosen based on demonstrated leadership that has contributed significantly to improvements in acquisitions; and achievement in the field of acquisitions through contributions to professional associations, literature, the education of acquisitions professionals and the advancement of the profession.
Send nominations to: Nancy Slight-Gibney,

The Margaret Mann Citation is presented to a cataloger or classifier for outstanding professional achievement in the areas of cataloging or classification through publication, participation in professional cataloging associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries. The ALCTS Cataloging and Classification Section administers the award, a citation and $2,000 to the library school of the winner's choice, which is donated by OCLC, Inc. The Mann Citation jury bases its selection on nominations made by members of the profession or friends of the profession. Achievements to be considered include notable publications, such as an article, pamphlet, or book; outstanding contribution to the activities of professional cataloging associations; outstanding contribution to the technical improvement of cataloging and classification and/or the introduction of a new technique of recognized importance; and outstanding contribution in the area of teaching cataloging and classification.
Send nominations to: Kate Harcourt,

The Esther J. Piercy Award recognizes contributions to library collections and technical services by a librarian with no more than ten years of professional experience, who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contribution and leadership. The award consists of a citation and a $1,500 grant donated by YBP, Inc. Winners will be chosen based on accomplishments related to technical services and resources in such areas as leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level; contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines; significant contribution to professional literature; and conduct of studies or research in the technical services. Nomination submissions must include a resume or narrative career outline, and a nomination statement that includes the date the nominee entered his or her first professional position.
Send nominations to: Marsha Clark, chair,

For additional information on the ALCTS awards, visit the ALCTS Web site at

back to alcts newsletter online home