ALA Nominating Committee Seeks Candidates for 2004

The ALA 2004 Nominating Committee is soliciting nominees to run on the 2004 spring ballot for the offices of ALA president-elect, ALA treasurer and Councilor-at-large. The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for president-elect, two candidates to run for treasurer and no fewer than 68 candidates for the 34 at large Council seats to be filled in the 2004 spring election.

The president-elect will serve a three-year term: as president-elect in 2004-2005, as president in 2005-2006, and as immediate past president in 2006-2007. The treasurer and Councilors-at-large will serve for three-year terms, beginning after the 2004 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2007 Annual Conference. The treasurer's term of office was reduced from four years to three years by vote of the ALA membership in the 2003 election.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; fax; and e-mail address. Self-nominations are encouraged. Nominees should complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form available at Nominations and forms must be received no later than August 1, 2003.

Nominations may be sent to any member of the 2004 Nominating Committee. Committee members are:

  • George M. Needham, Chair, OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 6565 Frantz Rd., MC 709, Dublin, OH 43017-3395. Email:;
  • Khafre K. Abif, 5800 Central Avenue Pike #4003, Knoxville, TN 37912. Email:;
  • Wayne Coco, Architect, P.O. Box 111, Simmesport, LA 71369. Email:;
  • Mario M. Gonzalez, Director, Greenwich Library, 101 West Putnam Ave., Greenwich, CT 06830-5328. Email:;
  • Erlene Bishop Killeen, Stoughton Area Schools, Administration & Education Service Center, 320 North Street, Stoughton, WI 53589-1733. Email:;
  • Leslie A. Manning, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs Library, P.O. Box 7150, Colorado Springs, CO 80933-7150. Email: ;
    · Barbara T. Mates, Cleveland Public Library, Cleveland, OH 44110-4006. Email:;
  • Vanessa Work Ramseur, Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County, Beatties Ford Branch, 2412 Beatties Ford Road, Charlotte, NC 28216. Email:;
  • Betsy Wilson, University of Washington, Allen Library, Box 352900, Seattle, WA 98195-2900. Email:

To encourage diversity and leadership development, the Committee will refrain from nominating any current Councilors for election to another term. However, the Committee encourages all Councilors who wish to continue their service to the Association to file as petition candidates. Petitions will be available from Lois Ann Gregory-Wood, Council Secretariat, ALA, 50 E. Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, email, or during the 2003 Annual Conference or 2004 Midwinter Meeting. Petitions require 25 signatures for names to be included on the 2004 ballot.

back to alcts newsletter online home