Award Recipients

L. Ray Patterson Award Recipients

Ray Patterson was a legal thinker, writer, and practitioner who championed users' rights. He was a pioneer who drew attention to the restrictive nature of aggressive enforcement, new interpretations, and unnecessary expansions of copyright law. By recognizing those who follow in his footsteps, we celebrate his life accomplishments and contributions.

Year Recipient Title
2017 Jonathan Band Copyright Attorney and Adjunct Professor, Georgetown Law School
2016 Melissa Levine Principal Investigator, Copyright Review Management System
2015 No recipient No recipient
2014 Georgia Harper Scholarly Communications Advisor, The University of Texas at Austin Libraries
2013 No recipient No recipient
2012 Winston Tabb Dean of Libraries and Museums, Johns Hopkins University
2011 Peter Suber Open Access Project Director, Public Knowledge
2010 Fred von Lohmann Senior Staff Attorney, Electronic Frontier Foundation
2009 Jack Bernard Assistant General Counsel, University of Michigan
2008 Peggy Hoon Special Assistant to the Provost for Copyright Administration, North Carolina State University
2007 Peter Jaszi Professor of Law and Director of the Glushko-Samuelson Intellectual Property Law Clinic, American University’s Washington College of Law
2006 Prudence Adler Associate Executive Director, Federal Relations and Information Policy, Association of Research Libraries
2005 Kenneth Crews Columbia University